Very Vanilla Cupcakes

IMG_6297

This weekend I finally got to baking, I’ve been so busy lately but I couldn’t take it anymore I just had to whip out my whisk and wooden spoon. Forget homework, assignments and housework I just needed to bake!! So what better than these sweet, delicate and very vanilla cupcakes which I made for all my little cousins at a family get together on Sunday!

We start by preheating the oven to 180 degrees as well as lining 12 muffin tins with your cuttest cupcake holders. Then cream the butter and sugar.IMG_6265

Add the eggs one by one, mixing briefly in between.

Then in a separate bowl sift the flours and mix together.

Next mix the vanilla extract and the milk together.

Slowly pour even amounts of milk and flour into the egg mixture, adding small amounts bit by bit.

When your mixture is smooth and creamy you can turn off the mix master and start evenly portioning the batter into the muffin tin.IMG_6271IMG_6272

 

 

The cupcakes are now ready for the oven.       Place them in for 25 minutes and magic will happen. 

Whilst the cupcakes are doing their thing in the oven it’s time to start on the icing. 

Running with the vanilla theme I bought some vanilla pods to put in my icing. It adds great flavourand a lovely look for the final product. Simply, mix sieved sugar, softened butter, buttermilk, vanilla essence and pod. Stir until smooth and lucious.

IMG_6274

When the cupcakes are ready, test them with a skewer and them bring them out of the oven to rest ona drying rack. The cakes should look beautiful and golden. 

IMG_6277Let them cool for about 15 minutes and then it’s that time we’ve all beenwaiting for! THE ICING! Yayy 😛 

I chose to ice my cupcakes quite rustically as the littleys will devour the cakes no matter how they look and I won’t be depressed if my casually spread icing is demolished in a heart beat hAhA. 

I chose to glam my cupcakes abit by adding some drops of glitz. I just love those colourful little pearls you find in the baking section at coles and each time I walk past I just can’t help to take! So get creative and style with your fave decorations and toppings 🙂

IMG_6291Ingredients (makes 12): 

For the cakes:

  • 110g butter
  • 225g caster sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 125g plain flour
  • 150g s-r flour
  • 120ml milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

For the icing

  • 50 g butter
  • 125g icing sugarIMG_6290
  • 1 tbsp buttermilk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • Seeds from 1 vanilla pod

 

And that’s that! Perfect for kids, perfect for the cold, perfect for a party, just perfect! So if your’e sweet tooth is yearning for a treat I highly suggest you relieve your craving and munch on these nommies!

 

IMG_6295

Loveeee, Suzz xxx

 

Leave a Reply

